Visual Words

download

This week, we were asked to take a look at a number of visualization resources, and choose one to create our own product or provide a review. I used a site called Tagul, which I had never used before. It was so easy-to-use, and the product comes out looking great.

It’s funny because these are things that I would see other people make, but never thought I could do myself. However, using Tagul shows just how simple it is. You can choose provided shapes or upload one of your own. Then, all you need to do is input words that are important to your idea and change the font and color.

Instead of just writing a paragraph about being a teacher, I was able to put my words into a picture, which, I think, makes so much more of an impact on an audience. There is something special about looking at a picture. The viewer is engaged and asked to come to their own conclusions about what is being said.

Using Tagul was a great little exercise, and I would encourage everyone to give it a try.

3 thoughts on “Visual Words

  1. Cool I love the hand. I can imagine doing this for, say, evolution, in my science class. I’m going to try it! I’m glad to hear it’s easy… I’m always thinking it will take too long to learn or I’ll just have a futile struggle…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The hand is a really great idea! I completely agree with you about seeing other people’s work and wondering how they thought of that design or how they could get hundreds of words in a certain shape. It’s great that we are now provided so many resources that we can make awesome visuals that can really impact our audiences!

    Like

  3. I am so glad I read your blog! When I was exploring the visualization resources a few weeks ago, I really wanted to make a word cloud! I tried “Wordle” on several different computers because it kept giving me problems about the Java script…..I finally got so frustrated I switched to a different type of visual resource altogether, and gave up my dream of making a word cloud. But today, I saw yours from Tagul and decided to try again. It worked! I just posted my first try on my blog!
    Thanks!!

    Like

Leave a comment